positivenegative

lost and safe

killer app(s)

For all the 200,000 apps in Apple’s app store, I use two on a regular basis: Echofon and Bloomberg. [...] And yet I use my iPhone all the time. It’s my favorite piece of technology and has been for years.

Do you know why? Because Apple nailed the basics. Safari, Camera, iPod, Clock, Weather, Photos, Messages, Mail, and Maps are the apps that I use 95% of the time. Those are the ones that made me buy the phone and stick with it. If I had to read Bloomberg on the web and couldn’t play Civilization, I’d be sad, but my day would surely go on.

I know I’m not alone. The pattern I’ve seen for many people new to iOS is a rush to try a bunch of apps and then never use most of them again. There’s a large market for people who just want the core ten apps executed even better. I’d be happy to trade my iPhone for a N9, if that core experience was stronger.

This is precisely why I love my Android smartphone (an HTC myTouch Slide, in case you were wondering). Well said David, well said.

Signal vs Noise

Filed under: Missives

Leave a Reply

Time Travel

@posneg

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

