positivenegative

lost and safe

Burning Man

I’ll be going to the Burning Man festival in the near future.  I can’t decide if I want to go this coming event, or to the one in 2010.  Unfortunately, it coincides with the beginning of my fall semester of education.  I’d like to get as much state funded learning at my local university as possible before things get too bad.  If I wait until 2010, though, I can make the gathering an integral part of my existant plan to drive across the country.  From there I’d head to L.A., then up the coast to San Francisco and Seattle.

I’ve also decided that I will be attending the elaborate mass ritual in costume.  Once I arrive in Black Rock City, I will trade one act for another: that of an anthropologist documenting human rituals.

Filed under: Missives, , , , , ,

3 Responses

  1. David says:

    You should go BOTH years! I bet that if you went this year, you wouldn’t consider missing it the following year(s). I make a video every year of my BM experience. If you’d like a copy, just let me know and I’ll send one to you.

    Fire and dust,

    Psilly Psymon

  2. I’ve decided that I’m going to let my fantastic imaginings of this even guide me there, but it doesn’t hurt to check out the site for a little bit of interesting history. Tons of cool photos, too.

    http://www.burningman.com

  3. Sam says:

    I can’t say that I haven’t considered going both years, but again, my main consideration right now is continuing my formal education at university. I’ll be returning from a two year hiatus this summer, and I’d like to take advantage of grants and loans before the “well” dries up with this economy. While there’s something to be said for “just going for it”, I like the added benefit of having two years to prepare well (materially and spiritually). In addition, it will give me a chance to contribute something.

Leave a Reply

Time Travel

@posneg

 

