positivenegative

lost and safe

¡Parabéns a você!

Today is the day I was born.  At 8:12pm Eastern Standard Time, I will be 24 years of age.

I cannot escape the reality of where I was at this time last year.  I look at the clear blue sky and see the fluffy, pure clouds – miles high and wide – floating in from the Gulf Coast, and am reminded of a similar view from the hospital bed.  All month long, I watched, as clouds and time floated by.  The sun comes up; the sun goes down; the sun comes up; the sun goes down. A detached rhythm marked only by the continual ticking off of secondsminuteshoursdaysweeks.  Having escaped that wretched prison of foul odors and death, I feel like I should be celebrating…something.  If not my birthday then something.

So with that in mind, I declare this day a Holy Day.  A day that celebrates, not my birth, but my rebirth.  This day, a year later, I am alive.  I am well.  No…I am better than the day I died.  I have been born anew.  I want to strip off my clothing, cover myself in brightly colored powder, play bodyentrancing souluplifting music and dance and celebrate and love and let life embrace me and throw me where it may.  I am ready.  I’m listening.

Sashtiabdhapoorthi [Coming of Age Rituals]

Genpuku (元服 ?), also called Kakan (加冠 ?), was a historical Japanese coming-of-age ceremony.  To mark the entry to adult life of boys between the ages of 12 and 16, they were taken to the shrines of their patron kami. There they were presented with their first adult clothes, and their boys’ hairstyles (角髪 mizura?) were changed to the adult style. They were also given new adult names (烏帽子名 eboshi-na?).

In Heian times, the ceremony was restricted to the sons of noble and samurai families. During the Muromachi era, it gradually spread to include men of lower ranks.  The equivalent ceremony for women was called mogi (裳着 ?); this was performed for girls aged between 12 and 14, and was similarly based around the presentation of adult clothing.  In modern Japan, these ceremonies have been replaced by annual coming-of-age ceremonies for 20-year-olds of both sexes called seijin shiki.

The age of majority in Japan is 20. The seijin shiki covers all those who will reach this age during the current school year, which runs between April and the following March. The ceremony is generally held in the morning at local city offices and all young adults who maintain residency in the area are invited to attend. Government officials give speeches, and small presents are handed out to the new adults.

Many women celebrate this day by wearing a furisode (振袖 ?) (a style of kimono with long sleeves that drape down). Since most are unable to put on a kimono by themselves due to the intricacies involved in putting one on, many choose to visit a beauty salon to dress and to set their hair. A full set of formal clothing is expensive, so it is usually either inherited or rented rather than being bought specially for the occasion. Men sometimes also wear traditional dress (dark kimono with hakama).

The Poy Sang Long (Shan: “Festival [of the] Crystal Sons”) is a rite of passage ceremony among the Shan peoples, in Myanmar (also known as Burma) and in neighbouring Northern Thailand, undergone by boys at some point between seven and fourteen years of age. It consists of taking novice monastic vows and participating in monastery life for a period of time that can vary from a week to many months or more. Usually, a large group of boys are ordained as novice monks at the same time.

It can also be observed in neighbouring Thailand, where Shan immigrants have brought over the traditions from Myanmar. The ceremony goes on for three days, as the boys (dressed up like princes in imitation of the Lord Buddha, who was himself a prince before setting out on the religious path) spend the entire time being carried around on the shoulders of their older male relatives. On the third day, they are ordained, and enter the monastery for a period of at least one week, and perhaps many years.

Creative Energy Overflow

As I immerse myself in the positive creative spirits surrounding me, and as I allow myself to be guided by the Universal Constant™, the outpouring of visions and ideas increases.  So too does my confidence in my ability to faithfully and accurately express these concepts.  Numerous projects that allow me to focus and expand my creative abilities are coming to me.  Not a day goes by where I don’t paint, or draw, or construct, or somehow contribute something positive to the world[s] I inhabit.  As I continually give, more resources come to me.

I am currently exploring various ways to utilize my talents to open up new avenues of resource propagation.  This  includes (obviously) honing my drawing, painting, photography, and trade skills, and (less-obviously) building an intuitive access point which presents the fruits of my creative energies in a multi-story constellation.

Oh, and before I forget, I’ve finally managed to find the time and energy to photograph most of my paintings and drawings.  I have yet to upload the images to my Flickr account.  I have, however, fixed up the photography section of this journal with a mix of new and old work.  More will be uploaded as I find the time, so…um…do I really need to say it?

Filed under: Missives, , , , ,

One Response

  1. […] nature are too great to be numbered), it ended up being exactly what I needed to assist me in fulfilling my desires as a creative entity: a digital camera.  Equipped with such powerful tools as I am, a prediction of the acceleration of […]

Leave a Reply

Time Travel

@posneg

 

