positivenegative

lost and safe

A Path to God.

…Maharishi called the Transcendental Meditation technique “a path to God,” and the Transcendental Meditation technique has been described as “spiritual” but not religious, and as a coping strategy for life.

Transcendental Meditation

Something about those last five words moves me in a strange way.  Almost as if it’s being implied that one must cope simply with being alive, as if it were a great stress or chore.  I can’t help but laugh a little, as I definitely feel as though I’ve been struggling to maintain my sanity and composure.  I’ve begun growing a forest, a field, of ideas and knowledge and love that must be tended to nourished and cultivated.  My “paying” job has become a burden, a drag, to say the least.  8 to 9 hours spent working on someone else’s time, on their dream, on their business.  Time to move forward, to keep the momentum gaining.  I haven’t been meditating regularly (only once, I think, in the past two weeks), and I can feel the difference.  It’s not good: my mental energy dissipates fairly quickly, ability to focus is slightly diminished.  I’ve taken the next week off from work to recover and meditate.

A fun and strange quote from a friend:

You should never start clearing just after a quick spontaneous idea. Once you start clearing, you’ll make big changes in the habitat. If you cut big amounts of deciduous trees and bushes, they’ll grow new shoots double speed after clearing! Be aware of this! It’s like peeing in your pants, first it is warm and nice but shortly after that it is not any more. That’s why you should think about the future: are you ready to repeat this after a couple of years? Are you ready to start grazing after cutting?

Filed under: Missives, , , ,

One Response

  1. ian says:

    Thanks for this, I’ve been feeling the same way lately. Glad to know I’m not the only one! Meditation’s become as physically addictive as a drug. I become a total wreck if I skip it for a day or two…

Leave a Reply

Time Travel

@posneg

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

 

