positivenegative

lost and safe

the examined life

Daytum

 

Being the data geek and infographic nerd that I am, I’ve decided to embark on a new year long experiment.  For the next twelve months, I’ll be recording each meal, each hour of work logged, and every minute wasted playing Angry Birds, among various other metrics.  Call me crazy or maniacally self-obsessed, but data mining yourself is the hip new trend, or didn’t you know?

Well, it may not be a hip new trend, but it certainly has caught my eye.  At the moment, I’m using Daytum to record and track.  I love the minimal interface, and it goes a long way towards making me want to use it on a regular basis.  The design is very much driven by large, clean typography and judicious use of negative space.  There a few customization options, such as profile image or color scheme, but with an interface this beautiful, there’s little that I’d want to change.  I’m also exploring other trackers, such as RescueTime and Me-trics.

This may all be leading nowhere and end up being fairly useless, but who knows, I might even glean some interesting information about my habits and patterns, which could be quite useful.  Or not.

If you’re interested in getting a quantified glimpse into my life that may or may not interest you, head on over to my Daytum site.

Filed under: Missives

Leave a Reply

Time Travel

@posneg

 

